SWA to felicitate finalists of MPA-APSA ‘Launch Your Script’ Program


To mark the success of our ‘Launch Your Script’ 2018 contest, an outreach program for scriptwriting that was launched by the Screenwriters Association (SWA), India, in collaboration with Motion Picture Academy (MPA) and Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA), SWA will host a felicitation ceremony for the LATC Global Film and TV program winner, Anubhav Chopra, and MPA APSA Academy Film Fund finalists, on October 24th 2018, Wednesday, at 6:00 PM, at its office in Andheri West. (Click here for the list of finalists.)

C0734DE5-1245-40FC-B34F-40A17A58530D 4584A31F-ACDB-4A16-AFF1-D6E8D3AFC482

The chief guests for the event will be actress Swara Bhaskar, known for her roles in films such as Tanu Weds Manu, Ranjhanaa, and the recently released Veere Di Wedding and Saiwyn Quadras, writer of popular flicks such as NeerjaMary Kom and Parmanu – the story of Pokhran;  the program will also be attended by members from the press, MPA, APSA, and SWA, and the team of panelists. The SWA-MPA-APSA Academy Film Fund jury from India consisted of senior APSA members – namely Rajit Kapur, Leena Yadav, Rajan Khosa, Mayank Tewari and Meenakshi Shedde.

The objective of this contest was to open the doors for our members to compete in the MPA APSA Academy Film Fund, 2018, in Brisbane, Australia for the prestigious $25000 script development grant. And the prime reward, of course, was a paid trip to Los Angeles for the Latin American Training Centre (LATC) Global Film & TV Program workshop, in which the winner would be able to spend a week networking and attending workshops and interacting with industry professionals in LA. After receiving an enormous amount of entries and going through multiple rounds of evaluation, SWA finally found the list of twelve finalists whose entries will be sent to compete in the APSA Academy Film Fund. With this, the name of the winner of the LATC Global Film and TV program this year was also announced.

About the MPA APSA Academy Film Fund: The Motion Picture Association (MPA) and Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) annually awards four script development grants of US $25,000 each to APSA Academy members at the awards ceremony held in Brisbane, Australia. APSA is regarded as the highest accolade in film in the region, and these grants provide significant support to enable stories from the Asia Pacific to reach the global stage. Winners of the film fund in the past have included Iranian writer-director Asghar Farhadi (for A Separation, which went on to win an Academy Award®) and Australian writer-director Rolf de Heer (for Mr. Ward’s Incredible Journey). In 2017, SWA member Suman Mukhopadhyay’s Paradise in Flames was one of the four recipients of the MPA APSA Academy Film Fund. This project was submitted with the endorsement of APSA Academy member Rajit Kapur as a creative consultant.